Contentment with Needles

I’m compelled.
Feeling a little obsessed.
I’ve knit five dish cloths in the last two days and am casting on yet another. They’re just so quick and easy and fulfilling in a really basic way for me. I can watch the stack grow and feel accomplished. I can fill the drawer at The Artist Place and feel satisfied.

image

I get into a rhythm and watch the design emerge. It feels good to see the percentage of my finished project climb quickly and be casting off only a few hours after after I’ve cast on. I really am an impatient girl!

There are a couple things I’m especially enjoying right now on the midst of this knitting flurry…

image

Like this Bernat Holiday yarn. It’s one of the big guys, nearly ten ounces, and seems to last forever when knitting such small projects. It also has a silver thread mixed in with the cotton and that tiny bit of sparkle is pretty fun.

image

I’m also really enjoying these easy to follow pattern books that always have lovely results. Especially KNIT Dishcloths by Julie Ray. It has a dozen designs based on quilt blocks. I’m enjoying it so much I’m thinking of knitting them in a yummy cuddly yarn and making a throw blanket! While I tumble that delicious thought around in my head a bit (Fun decisions like color and texture must be considered carefully and with much dreaming.) I’ll be using up this lovely cotton. Watching this beautiful stack grow and feeling really content as it does.

Finding contentment in a project is such a good thing. I am my own worst critic; always second guessing myself, always picking apart every perceived flaw. But not here, not today; today I’m just having fun and enjoying the process.

How about you? Are you entrenched in a little crafty obsession right now? What project do you pull out to fill yourself up with happy satisfaction?

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

One response to “Contentment with Needles

  1. Love that you found something stress free to work on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

