A Quilty Kind Of Christmas

image

Happy 2013!
That’s how I should be starting this post! Since for most of you Christmas has come and gone, and maybe the decorations are already put away.

For us, our little tree lingers a little longer. Celebrating lasted up until the last minute of 2012! It really was a full and filled up year.

Along with all the celebrating came a whole lot of crafty goodness. Quilts abound!

image

If you are a follower of my blog over at HonorCrownedCrafts.com then you might recognize this first lovely. It’s the Walk About Home quilt I made earlier in the year with the help of my awesome crafty Mama. Handmade holiday gifts are a big hit in our family!

image

The happy couple that got the Walk About Home quilt also got this pretty little bigger something. A rainbow fan quilt with pieces cut by me and created by my talented MIL, E. It’s spectacular in all its bright colorful happiness. We like our people to stay warm and toasty around here.

image

Speaking of E, she got blessed with quilty love as well. Followers of HCC might recognize this one too! Yep, it was Mom and I again, making merry with stars and blocks printed with Psalms. E was super excited and is already figuring out what wall gets to hold her new treasure.

image

If you were wondering if we got to bring home a little fabric love of our own you can rest assured -we did! E made this crazy amazing eagle wall hanging for my crazy amazing guy.

It suits him perfectly. His favorite Bible verse is Isaiah 40:32 “but those that hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

And I can’t wait to get it hung, we have just the spot for it.

image

And last but not least… me!
E finished a quilt my paternal grandmother began long before my memory of her. (I had two twin sized tops hand pieced by grandma; E quilted and finished them by hand to keep them as true to her as possible.) I had asked her to finish it last year after I gave its twin to my brother for Christmas. Then I promptly forgot all about it. So, I was over the moon to open the box and have it there ready for cuddling. Ready for cherishing.

It’s funny how some fabric and stitching can mean so much. Funny how it captures our hearts as it warms our toes. It’s one of my most favorite things about quilts.

While we were gifting quilts this year we were also planning the next ones to be made. I think a few tee shirt quilts will be popping up around here soon! And I, for one, can’t wait!

image

So, even though I’m catching up late – I truly hope you and yours had a very
Merry Christmas and are enjoying a very Happy New Year!

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

2 responses to “A Quilty Kind Of Christmas

  1. B.A. Ritter

    Those are all super awesome quilts! It is fun to see you all smiling with them! Happy New Year!

  2. I *guess* it was a quilty Christmas! Glad you got some great stuff, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

