Sew Happy Friday

A funny thing happened when I opened the fabric drawer today. I found a piece of pre-quilted fabric that had been bought for another project…Um, three years or something ago now. Oops! Then the thought just struck me that I would like to make a cosmetic bag. So I did.

Then I made four more…

image

Once I got started I just figured it worked so well I might as well use up the half yard of fabric I had. After all, if I use it up I can buy more, right?

image

I made a little cardboard template in the shape I wanted so they’d be somewhat uniform. I like a curved top on a makeup bag for some reason. My curved zipper sewing secret is pins. Lots of pins. I only pin the zipper to the outer fabric and I lay the lining in as I stitch around. It works pretty well I think.

image

While we’re here talking cosmetics bags I also have a little announcement to make. Beginning this month I’m now an official Independent Avon Representative! I’m kinda exited about that because I really love my Avon. I love their eyeliner, mascara, lotion, body wash, nail polish and fragrances. I’m my own best customer, really. It’s just a perk to get to share it with other people.

I have an online store where you can shop from anywhere and get it shipped right to you. There seems to always be a free shipping code or offer on the ‘shop now’ page too. Or you can always go the friendly face to face option and request a brochure if you live in/near Northern Colorado. 🙂

So, now that I have a bunch of fancy new cosmetics bags for The Artist Place I’ll be tucking in some fun surprises for whoever buys them!

image

While I was having a sewing day I also made a cozy for a pint-sized mason jar turned sippy cup with a Cuppow. (I love these lids! Get them at Fab.com)

image

I used up a few of the dwindling scraps from Sweetwater’s Hometown collection. I love how that particular collection fits the mason jar down-home feel.

I did break two needles and discover I’m all out of short zippers. A trek to the fabric store is in order! I won’t brave the snow for just anything, but craft supplies are on the list. 🙂 All in all it was a happy productive day! What’s been keeping your crafty hands busy?

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

