Aubergine Honey

Oh, for the love of honey…
The Honey Cowl is fantastic!

image

If you’re a knitter, crocheter, felter, spinner, fiber artist of any kind and you aren’t on Ravelry you should really really really consider going over and joining up. It’s a great community of creative people and an awesome resource for patterns and yarn advice.

image

I’ve had the Honey Cowl pattern in my favorites for a while now. To be honest I put it off because I’ve never knit in-the-round before and was a little intimidated. I tried once with double pointed needles and sock yarn, it was not pretty or fun. So, I’ve admired the in-the-round patterns from a safe distance.

image

Then this week I had to make a trip to Joann’s, and I had to walk out with my listed items and two skeins of Deborah Norville Everyday Soft Worsted in Aubergine. Had to.

While I was hunting for a plain ol’ knit flat scarf pattern – two of which I knit test sections of to see if I liked them – I ran across the Honey Cowl pattern. I just happened to have one set of size eight connected needles for knitting in the round. Maybe it was all meant to be, this cowl and I.

image

I cast on just a few days ago, and held my breath while I joined the ends and began my first round. As you can see it worked out quite well. Once I got the pattern in my head I was a little obsessed with watching it grow. And as the cowl grew I decided I could get a good sized cowl from just one skein. It’s a couple inches shorter than the eleven inches the pattern called for, but hey, I’ve got a short neck! It works just great. The pattern is really lovely and squishy and cozy. I totally recommend it!

image

After I finished the Honey Cowl I immediately hunted up another cowl pattern and cast on that second skein. This time the pattern is called Atomic, it’s a great woven looking reversible pattern with ribbed edging. I accidentally got this one twisted when I joined it so I did have to unknit a row when I realized that, but now I’m on a roll with the ribbed edge and looking forward to getting to the main body pattern. I’m also excited because now knitting my first sweater seems a little less daunting thanks to my new in-the-round skill.

Have you learned a new yarn-y skill recently? What pretty project is on your needles/hook right now?

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

