Just like Grandma’s

Or at least very close!

image

These were originally intended to be a Christmas gift for my brother, but in my procrastination they sort of ended up as a Valentine’s gift instead. Good thing he didn’t seem to mind.

image

I don’t have the original pattern my grandmother used when we were kids. I was pretty young, but I think she sent slippers for Christmas. I don’t remember them as specifically as my brother does, but I remember they had this basic shape.

image

The slipper pattern from Knitting Pretty was really easy to follow. It called for a bulky yarn so I used the thinner yarn I’d picked out held double. It resulted in a super squishy heavier slipper which might be just right for cold snowy nights. After all, Grandma’s slippers were meant for Florida winters not Colorado ones.

image

I knit these up in just a couple of days, over the weekend really. And I’ve got at least one more pair planned; can’t let my guy’s toes get cold! Maybe with a little digging I’ll be able to find that original pattern my grandma used and carry on her proud tradition. That is, of course, depending on if she used a pattern. After knitting so many pairs -hundreds, maybe?- perhaps she didn’t use a particular pattern. How she always got the size just right from so far away I’ve no idea. I guess that’s just one of those great things about grandmas.

image

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

