Napkin to Drawstring Bag

In front of me I have a pile…
A tent (or 3, haha…only requiring one)
Sleeping bags
Blankets & pillows
A cooler…

Yeah, there’s a camping trip in my future. We have all the gear, practically all the comforts of home. I just needed one small thing…a laundry bag. Just a small one for socks and tees. A little drawstring something would do just fine.
image

A friend gave me two cloth napkins with butterflies on them a few months ago. I really felt like they were too cute to use for napkins so they’ve been floating around the craft room waiting for inspiration to strike. And, it finally did! First thing this morning.

Here’s a little show and tell of my favorite kind of project – quick and easy!

image

» Grab yourself a couple of napkins;  wrong sides together.
  I opted for that because I really like the yellow edging on my napkins and wanted to keep it visible.
» Stitch around the outside edge. Leaving the top open, of course.

image

» When you get to the other side leave a little opening, making sure it’s large enough for whatever drawstring you want to use. (Option: You can do this on both sides of the top instead of just one and gather your bag from both sides to close it instead of a single side like mine.)

image

»  Fold the top down on your new bag to create a pocket for your drawstring. Your little opening should be on the outside or on the top edge.
»  Stitch around the bottom edge to create your pocket.
  Almost done!

image

»  Thread your string/ribbon/yarn around your bag through that pocket. I make it easier to ease it around by attaching a safety pin I can feel from the outside.

image

»  Enjoy your cute new bag!

I think it’ll be nice to have a cheery handmade something with us in the woods. Even if it is just to hold the dirty hiking socks!

What will you carry in your new drawstring bag?

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

One response to “Napkin to Drawstring Bag

  1. Aubrey R

    First, you are rocking the blog posts. Second, I looove tutorials, especially from my favorite crafter! And those are some cuuute napkins. Apparently it’s a day for excessive vowels. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

