Sew Cushy {from granny’s box}

image
My first project using a bit of handmade history from granny’s box is a simple one. Inspired by a pillow we had growing up with a bit of crochet on top. I can’t quite grasp the image of that first pillow anymore…it might have been a dark red…it might have had a phrase like ‘home sweet home’ in the cream colored crochet…I think.

However it was I still remember the idea of it and used it to make this version…

I have to say this was the easiest of the items in the box to work with. Square and intact it made creating this quilted pillow a snap.

I picked a fabric from the stash dark enough to bring out the lace. I also picked it with someone in mind to gift it to for Christmas. (I guess that makes this a bit off a Handmade Holiday post as well!)

image

I made a traditional quilt sandwich – fabric up, batting, fabric down – out of pieces a few inches larger all around than what I wanted my finished pillow to be. Fat quarter size basically, it’ll end up a 16 inch pillow.

I quilted it simply with a straight stitch roughly following the design of the fabric. I made two of these, one for each side of my pillow.

image

I trimmed my quilted squares to 16.5… Using a half inch seem allowance because I added a zipper and like to give myself plenty to sew onto.

I centered my crocheted square and pinned it. As I sewed it down I tugged it just a bit to open up the lace, and I sewed inside the scalloped edge so that it made a little fringe.

With my two pillow sides ready to go I basically follow this great tutorial by Brett Bara to finish my pillow. She’s awesome. If zippers make you want to cry you’ll love this tutorial! You’ll be adding zippers to whatever you can get your hands on.

image

Ta-da! One Christmas gift down, a million more to go! Or should that be one item from granny’s box used a million more to figure out?

image

I love the extra squishy-ness the quilting adds to this project, but you could totally do this with a single layer of fabric.

So, new throw pillows in your future? How about some doilies? They’re not just for table tops anymore! 🙂

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

One response to “Sew Cushy {from granny’s box}

  1. Leanna Wagner

    Thank you, Stephanie. Coincidentally, I have four of my Gram’s pieces laying on the ironing board right now—waiting for fabric…!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

