zip me up {from granny’s box}

image

It started with a little linen something…maybe it originally went on the arm of a chair or sofa? I’m not sure. There was only one of these little linen rectangles with an eyelet border in granny’s box.

image

I imagined it as a little zipper pouch with red work on the sides. I had this swan pattern printed from someplace online…Flickr, I think. I traced it over carbon paper on either end of my linen -careful to make them opposite so when I cut and sewed it they’d be right side up.

image

image

I added a zipper and lined it in red. The red is so much smaller because I wanted to leave the eyelets outside like fringe. I sewed the red inside right sides together first, which is different then how I normally make bags so it felt strange. Then, with the red out of the way, I sewed the outer linen wrong sides together -inside the eyelet edging. I tucked the loose zipper ends in the top section of eyelet and sewed just that section closed for clean edges.

image

I like how it turned out, the linen is heavy enough it doesn’t really show the red inside. It’s simple, a little old-fashioned maybe…but pretty and useful and will work great for a little birthday gift. It’s one more small thing from granny’s box made new.

Happy day!

» As a little side note…I am soak-washing these items before I use them. My grandmother was from Florida and this box has been closed up for a very long time. Some of the pieces I will use have stains, brown spots, and a musty odor. I use my hand-washing soap called Soak (the same thing I use for washing my hand-knit items) plus Oxy-clean to whiten and release stains. I hang or lay everything in the sun to help bleach out stains as well. Sometimes it makes the pieces look new again, sometimes the stains don’t come out, and that’s ok with me.

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

