And grant you Peace

Peace; noun, middle English.
1 : a state of tranquillity or quiet: as a : freedom from civil disturbance b : a state of security or order within a community provided for by law or custom 2 : freedom from disquieting or oppressive thoughts or emotions 3 :  harmony in personal relations 4 a : a state or period of mutual concord between governments b : a pact or agreement to end hostilities between those who have been at war or in a state of enmity 5 —used interjectionally to ask for silence or calm or as a greeting or farewell.

image

Peace is a funny thing.
It can be a state of being not-at-war. An agreed upon thing, a we-just-aren’t-fighting thing, even if we never actually solved the conflict.

Peace can be a way to say goodbye. A blessing as someone leaves you, I hope for them, a wish for their future.

Peace can be a state of mind. It can be illusive, seemingly cruel, hard to come by, hard won and hard fought. It can also be second nature, your everyday, and taken for granted.

I do that. I take peace for granted.

I live in a place where I don’t have to worry. Not about everyday things. I don’t worry about my next meal; or the one after that, or the one after that, and so on. I don’t worry about coming home; having a bed, a warm place in winter, a cool place in summer, the safety of it. I don’t worry about my future; not really, not about having one, or being ok, or knowing it’ll work out. I just trust it will, that God has a plan and somehow even in my ignorance I’ll get to it.

So, yeah, I have peace about a lot of things. Peace permeates my days and I don’t even realize it. Even when I think ‘I just need some peace!’ I generally have more than most. Usually, I just need to stop fretting the house will be clean enough for guests.

Today, I’m thinking about how silly that is. Totally true, and totally me, but still -in the scope of life – silly.

My Compassion kiddo Buni has very little of that everyday kind of peace. Maybe more so now that I’m here, trying to offer it up to her there, half a world away.

My little monthly withdrawal ensures she has peace about at least one meal a day.  She has the peace of a place to go, a sheltering place, a take-care-of-you place. She has some peace in a future; she’s learning life skills, she’s getting an education. She’s being ministered to; mind, body, and spirit. She’s is learning about Jesus, about forgiveness, grace and love. She’s learning about hope, and His plans for her future. She’s learning that people, strangers, care about that future. All of this and more, I pray for her peace.

Will you consider offering a little peace to a stranger? To a child who has known very little of it in their short life? Will you consider sponsoring a child through Compassion?

I’m asking. Unashamed, unabashedly, stubbornly hoping that you will. Because I know it can not only change their lives but yours as well. It might even, dare I say it, bring you both a little peace.

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

One response to “And grant you Peace

  1. Aubrey R

    She’s getting so big! Praying that both our Compassion kiddos find peace, and many more to come.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

