Hope and a future

image

   I have spent most of my years on this earth worrying over children. When my body was young and my children still wrapped tight against my back I worried. When my husband died and I gathered grain in the field, my children were left on their own and I worried. When my daughter was full with child and bringing new life was so hard on her body I worried. When sickness over came her and I was left with my grandson to care for I worried.

   Even when I was approached about getting my grandson into the Child Development Center I worried. Would they really do everything they said they would do? Would they feed him, educate him, would they give him a future?

   He came home with a smile like the sun the day his first letter from his sponsor arrived. They said it was just the two of them in their home now, their own children grown and gone and having children of their own. They said they lived in a small farming town in a place called Indiana. They said many things that made me think they might understand my worries.

   As their letters kept coming over many months they expressed their pride in my grandson’s school work. They said they prayed over our family and hoped I was well. They told him stores about when their own son was young and loved games like the ones my grandson enjoys.

   Many times I worried the letters would stop coming and my grandson’s heart would be broken. Then a letter would come, with news and blessings for us, and my worries lifted. This family from so far away made me feel like, after so many years of carrying the burden of this child’s future in my hands alone, I had a partner. They worried over him too.

   He comes home from the center and tells me of a man named Jesus. I’ve heard of this man from the sponsor letters too. Jesus has plans for my boy. Plans for a hope and a future. I would not have believed that before the center came into our lives. After all, what do strangers care about this one child?
  
   I’ve learned that Jesus has influenced many people on behalf of my grandson. He has influenced many people on behalf of all the children at the Child Development Center. He convinced these people to come together, to build a place of joy for children and their families.

   Through Jesus this family in Indiana has given me the greatest gift, they have eased my worry. My grandson grows strong and healthy, he laughs and plays, has food to eat and medicine when he is ill. He is learning new things every day and I can see a promising future in his eyes. He will be a good man, my daughter will be proud of her son. I can rest in that.

» September is Compassion Blogger month and I’m proud to join in. Even if only one child gets sponsored through my words here I’m proud. Every child counts, every child matters, every child deserves hope and a future.

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

