Step One

image

Ok, sure, technically you could say step one was having an appointment with our Reproductive Endocrinologist. Which we did, but I’m considering his idea of step one our real first step.

What is his version?
I’m so glad you asked!
It’s testing. Boring. Necessary. Testing.
Blood work for me and an SA (semen analysis) for the hubs.

It’s been six years, six years, since we’d visited that doctor’s office. Six years of…what felt like running towards the ocean, then getting scared and running back to a mountain. Six years of prayer and hope and waiting. Six years is long enough that you kinda just start back at the beginning.

On Saturday morning I offered up a vein and a curly topped redheaded guy a dozen years younger than me filled six tubes while I crossed my fingers. This morning I got the sweetest phone call.
Hallelujah!
Everything looks good.
I look good, the swimmers look good…
Ok, everything except my Vitamin D level saying I’m deficient. Which is fine, it’s common for me, and I just boost my vitamins. The good news is we are onto the next test and another step closer to our goal!

My next test is in a week and a half. I’ll have this thing called an HSG (Hysterosalpingogram) I call it the x-ray/flush test. Basically the doctor uses dye to flush through my fallopian tubes and uterus and takes x rays during that process. He’s making sure there’s no blockages in the tubes or uterine polyps to be concerned about later. I had a couple polyps when he did my laparoscopic surgery six years ago and he wanted to make sure I’m all clear before we try to make a baby in there. (Uterine polyps can cause miscarriage.)

So. ..
Then.
Hoping and praying all is well and we get a green light for. .. What step are we on after that? Three maybe?

Let’s just call it IUI (Intrauterine Insemination) round one.
It’s the least invasive way for our doctor to help us make a baby, and it’s where we’re headed.

Round one because it might not work. Usually couples try around three times and then if it hasn’t worked they move on to something else.
But let’s not jump ahead.
We’re on a journey here, a bit of a long one for better or for worse.

I considered waiting for that glorious positive pregnancy test to talk about the process. Or waiting for after the first trimester like you’re often advised. But then you would miss the messy, frustrating, anxious, hopeful backstory. If it doesn’t work you’ll know the road we walked. If it does you’ll celebrate every moment with us along the way.

Like I mentioned in my last ramble – don’t go it alone – and I’m not. I’m too nervous to keep it in, too excited to hold the secrets, too anxious people won’t understand looking from the outside. We each have a story, hopes and fears, I’m just putting mine out there. Maybe you can relate.

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

One response to “Step One

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

