Read-a-thon-ing

image

Hello, friends!
I’m doing something fun and different that I’ve never done before today -I’m joining nearly 2000 readers!
Dewey’s 24 hour Readathon actually began at 6am, but I had to do meds at 6 so I’m starting at 6:30. I’ll be posting updates and doing some challenges here today while I male a big ‘ol dent in my TBR pile.
Ok, let’s go!
image
1) Northern Colorado, USA
2) Making a big dent in my current read Drums Of AutumnΒ by Diana Gabaldon
3) Nachos!
4) I’m a wife to my BFF, a stay-at-home pet mama to 2 dogs, a bunny, and a bird. I’m in the midst of an very long, frustrating, infertility journey-learning-experience and that’s mostly what I blog about here. I read for the escapism, and it gets me through the hard days, but have been a reader since I was young and have loved Stephen King since 5th grade. I’m a fan of stories and not really genre specific. (Stories are what I love most about people, too.)
5) This is my first readathon and I guess I’m mostly looking forward to learning how this community works and joining in…that, and the books! πŸ™‚
image

Six hours in!
I’ve read nearly 4 of them, with breaks for breakfast, and joining the Twitter community (I’m team Goldfinch), doing a couple mini challenges, checking back with the readathon blog to follow along, etc. I’ve only been reading the one book so I’m thinking I’ll switch things up for a bit and perhaps actually finish a book today. Though, it’s totally fine if I don’t. We’re all here for the fun of it!
I’ll leave you with my Operation: Quotation! Challenge quote from my read this morning:
image

Over half way!
I confess: I’m kindof a slow reader. I’m easily distracted. Also, my husband kidnapped me for church and dinner and a drive around town. But, you know, he’s worth it! πŸ˜‰ (And He’s worth it.)
I’ve read a little over six hours. I have a goal of 12 in mind so we’ll see if I can make that up tonight. My hubby also offered to stay up playing video games as moral support! It’s love y’all.
image

I am about half-way with book number two: Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple. And, I’d like to finish it. Though I’m starting my second half with a third book, a graphic novel French Milk by Lucy Knisley. I’m excited because I loved RelishΒ by her.
Ok, I’m off to stick my nose in a book! Here’s another mini challenge quote from today:
image

THE END.
I only made it 9 hours of actual reading, but I had so much fun with the community that is all worth it! There’s another Dewey’s 24 hour Readathon in October (2!Every year!) & I’m excited to do it again. Next time I’ll have a big stack of Lucy Knisley graphic memoirs to read. I read 3 books but only finished the 1 graphic memoir, French Milk. I did get well over half way with another book I’ll finish reading today Where’d You Go, Bernadette . And got a nice chunk out of Drums of Autumn .

All in all, my first readathon was great!
Happy Sunday! πŸ™‚
image

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

4 responses to “Read-a-thon-ing

  1. Hello from Alberta! Glad you could join the readathon. I’ve down loaded Four Past Minute as my listen to. Love Stephen King, too…what a storyteller. Speaking of story, it is a powerful thing and really does get us through those hard times. Wishing you the _very_ best on your journey.

  2. Hi Stephanie! I am Paula from Long Beach, Washington, USA. I saw your link on a list of “readathoners” not being cheered on via Twitter and thought I would pop over. We are almost halfway there, can you believe it? I hope you are enjoying this as much as I am. — Paula

  3. Wowza! You’re doing amazing πŸ™‚ Less than 4 hours to go!
    Keep it up! Good luck! #TeamEmu

  4. Seems like you had fun! I definitely did! πŸ™‚ it was a great event πŸ™‚ And thanks for leaving your blog URL on my Quote challenge πŸ™‚ I, however, did not have time to check blogs during the readathon. Was hardcore in reading πŸ˜€ I read 960 pages! Which was a total success! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

