Oh, baby!


A little third-trimester update…

We’ve had another appointment with the perinatalogist, still trying to see all the chambers of our little girl’s heart. We got closer this time, and saw some better pictures of her brain as well. Her little nural-tube-thingy (that’s the technical term I like to use) looked great. All her little bits still look good to the doctor so that’s very encouraging. Though when I say little I’m not being cute. 

Amara is measuring nearly a week small for her gestational age. Not concerning to the doctor who shows us a graph of average babies and she’s in the thirty-fifth percentile. He said we worry when babies are below the tenth percentile or above the ninetieth. But as for her parents (or maybe just mom) we raise an eyebrow at him trying to decide if it’s a ‘don’t worry yet’ type statement doctors sometimes make or a ‘no really there’s nothing to worry about’ statement. I’m leaning into the second for now.

He did say her legs are short, not abnormally short, but just a she might not be very tall kindof thing. Which made me laugh and raise my hand. Yeah, she gets that fairly, short legs are definitely hereditary over here. We also found out she’s flipped and is now breach. Which is fine since she’s got plenty of time to move around in there. I think she had just flipped the night before our appointment. I was laying in bed on my side and suddenly she moved so hard and fast my whole body moved with her and I said OH! OOOF! And thought -what the heck?! So it wasn’t surprising that she’s turned around. 

I love when she’s super active, seriously, I could sit and stare at my bumping and rolling belly for hours. I laugh, she kicks, I laugh more. I try to tell whoever is near Look! Look! but very seldom does that work. She still mostly dances just for me and that gives me all kinds of pride. Maybe she gets her shyness from me!

All in all we had a great appointment, and the doctor said if we wanted to come back again in four weeks we could track her growth curve. She’s right on the cusp of a growth spurt. I’m all for that so we made another appointment.

Now that we’ve got the happy baby update done, let’s chat a moment about the struggles. The last couple weeks I’ve been having some pretty bad low-back pain. Firstly, that’s not surprising. I’ve had problems with my lower back as long as I can remember. I knew I’d have issues as the pregnancy progressed and added strain to that area. I had hoped I’d have more time before that started but it seems we’re in it now. The difficult thing is there’s really nothing we can do but try a lot of little things to help manage the pain to get us through.

As I look ahead I’m pretty nervous about dealing with the pain over the next few months. Not that I’m not up to the challenge, or that I won’t do everything I need to do to get this kid here happy and healthy. But, let’s be honest, knowing you’re going to be just managing pain for a long haul is daunting. The pressure on my lower back pinches nerves that radiate pain out my hips and sometimes down my legs. I have a belly band to wear and that helps, I see a chiropractor and that helps, I have a small TENS unit to wear and that helps. The doctor has given me some medication to take when I need it and has recommended physical therapy. So there’s lots of small things I can do, not to fix it but to manage it, to get me to our delivery day. I hope I can maintain a positive attitude as we go on, I know pain can wear you down. I’m so excited for her to grow baby grow even though it exacerbates the back issue. 

We’ve also had a lot of family stuff happening lately leaving our world feeling ridiculously unsettled. It’s hard when you feel like you are finally getting to a place of all good things after several years of awful only to find your good is tempered with more difficulty. It’s a strange dichotomy this celebration vs struggle we’ve got going on. Our family could certainly use your prayers for strength in the struggle and health to persevere. 

To leave on a encouraging note -we’re getting so close to welcoming this babe! There’s so much less infront of us than we have behind us and her sweet self will be here sooner than we realize. Holiday seasons always go by so fast cause we all get so busy. I hope we pause to remember that as we get ready to welcome a new year we’ll be welcoming new life right along with it!

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

One response to “Oh, baby!

  1. Diane

    You know so much more than we ever did about what’s going on in there … we’ll pray for you of course, but we’re learning from you babe !

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

