:::right now:::

Right now it’s four-thirty a.m. and I’ve just finished the middle of the night pump and feed.

Right now I’m feeling a little shocked that the babe didn’t wake on her own an hour ago. (I woke her up making noise coming to pump.) 

Right now I’m feeling good about this baby thing; feeling like we’ve turned a corner in new-parent-sanity.

Right now I’m not ready to go back to bed, even though I should, because I just want to sit and watch her a while. I think about how excited I am for her milestones, for next stages, for all she’ll do and be. 

Right now I’m a little overwhelmed with my gratitude for this little person, and so utterly in love with her every little thing… She sighs. She grunts. She licks and coos. She pulls, kicks and pushes. She’s learning to move her body and make herself known and I love it.

Right now her hands are thrown up and open in that startle response way that she has and is so her to me. So funny. So cute. I hope I always remember this way she slept when she’s ten and I watch her sleep.

Right now I admit there have been moments I thought I’d bitten off more than I could chew with this girl and wondered how I’d ever thought I could do this. Sleep deprivation was so much nicer to me at twenty-five. 

Right now if I were asked for new-mom advice I’d tell you to research sleep and focus on sleep and getting that schedule worked out for your family. All the rest will come so much easier if you get the sleep key. And, oh my gosh, trust your body to adjust, it takes time, it happens slowly, but as it does you’ll rejoice. 

Right now I’m thinking about how our day will go tomorrow, how the week will follow it… My list of projects looks like this: Stuffed shells freezer meals, hang baptism quilt, create baptism shadow box, hang box and cross, changing table pads sewing project, laundry, dishes, dust, hockey.

Right now I’m interested to see how long she’ll sleep on that little dream state snack and need to go back to bed to prepare my own self for the next waking. 

Right now she’s grunting for her bottle…I knew that last bit wasn’t enough… Glad I’m still sitting here to accommodate until she drifts off again… Three ounces chugged and she’s wiggle stretching back to sleep…

Goodnight….Err…. Good morning. 🙂

About Stephanie

I'm a thirty-something wife, a Mama who loves family, dogs & bunnies. A daughter who loves to cook & bake. A sister who loves to sew & knit. A friend who loves to gab & laugh. I'm a christian & a maker of things. I'm a curator of memories, a photographer of life, a writer of stories. I'm a girl who is learning to love the richness of life in all it's fullness. A girl choosing to seek gratitude for my ordinary everyday. A girl learning about choosing to live in joy. Connect with me on Twitter/Instagram/Flickr @BextraordinaryU

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Lucie Loves It

Parenting & Lifestyle blogger

Inspired Mom Diaries

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

AubreyLida

Life in words and pictures

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Stitched in Color

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

comfortstitching

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

enJOY it by Elise Blaha Cripe

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Brett Bara

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

Raising the Barrs

Our Journey to Wellness on the Last Frontier

In Color Order

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

a cuppa and a catch up

tea + craft = bliss

A journal for a girl who likes words + photos.

